Close to 200 names released of New Jersey clergy accused of sexual abuse


After the Archdiocese of Newark released a list of 63 priests who it says were credibly accused of sexual abuse of minors, Paterson, Metuchen, Camden, and Trenton dioceses released their lists, which brings the total to almost 200 names.

Here are the full lists:






The Newark list consists of 63 priests, of which 33 are deceased, and at least 20 had more than one victim.

RELATED: NJ’s Roman Catholic dioceses to provide names of accused priests 

Cardinal Joseph Tobin says the recent sex abuse revelations have provoked feelings of shock, anger, shame and sorrow.

Newark was the first to release the names, but other dioceses are following suit.

In a statement, the Archdiocese of Newark says, “In an effort to do what is right and just, we are publishing the names of diocesan clergy credibly accused of sexual abuse of minors in the Archdiocese of Newark. This list of names is the result of an extensive review of Archdiocesan records dating back to 1940. All names were previously reported to law enforcement agencies. The Archdiocese of Newark has a zero-tolerance policy for any type of mistreatment or misconduct involving children and young adults.”

Cardinal Tobin goes on to say, “Anyone aware of suspected sexual misconduct by any cleric, employee, or volunteer of the Archdiocese to report it immediately to law enforcement and to the Archdiocesan Victim Assistance Coordinator: 201-407-3256.”

The archdiocese says it is part of pending lawsuits regarding clergy abuse and the names of those priests are not on this list.

The priests on the list who are not deceased have been permanently removed from their ministries.

Within the 63 names in Newark, the most known name is former Cardinal Theodore McCarrick.

This is a developing story.

Stay with News 12 for the latest.

This post was originally posted at http://newjersey.news12.com/story/39957402/church-names-63-new-jersey-clergy-accused-of-sexual-abuse. WGEH does not own this content and is not responsible for it.